weekend in roma

This was one of the first weekends where my roommates and I stayed in Rome. The past couple of weeks have been busy with travel, so it was so nice to have a relaxing weekend in Rome! On Friday, my class at the Scuola Leonardo da Vinci went on a tour of the Vatican. I had been to the Vatican years ago, but still was so anxious to get inside. We pass the Vatican on our walk home every day, and every time we do it makes me think of how lucky I am to be studying in a place as beautiful as Roma.

Image

Sunday was a very special day…my first AS Roma game! At 8:45pm, AS Roma took on Bologna FC. My roommates and I bought our maroon and yellow scarfs and we were ready to go. I could not believe the difference between sporting events in America and sporting events here. The energy of the fans made for an unforgettable experience. To the left of us was the group of die-hard Roma fans. Tons of maroon and yellow flags were being waved throughout the entire game.

Image

The most rowdy fans I have experienced are at hockey or football games, but even those were nothing compared to this. There were flares being set off, chants being sung, and while I didn’t know any of the words, or these traditions for that matter, I still loved every minute of it. One of my goals while studying here is to accept the Roman culture, and AS Roma is definitely a big part of that. The 5-0 win wasn’t bad either!!

Image

This coming week, my family is coming to Roma! My parents arrive tomorrow and my sister comes on Thursday. We have a great week planned, so I can’t wait to share on Monday!

Leave a Reply

